Français

The clinic

Near public transportation services (AMT train) and health services (hearing-aid acousticians, medical clinics, emergencies and hospitals), the Tinnitus, Hypo-hyperacusis Centre welcomes every year patients of all ages having tinnitus, hearing loss, hypersensitivity to noise, and auditory processing disorders. The competent, devoted and attentive staff will guide patients in ways to improve their audiological condition and refer them to the proper specialists when needed. Founded in 2001 in a municipality of almost 2000 citizens, at the junction of Lake Saint Louis and The Ottawa River, the Tinnitus, Hypo-Hyperacusis Centre continues year after year to give you an accessible, courteous and quality service. Welcome to all.

 

Tinnitus

How will I know if I suffer from tinnitus ?
Tinnitus can be defined as any sensation of sound(s) or noise(s) perceived by someone, within his/her ear(s) or head, in the absence of an external source. The tinnitus may be described as the following:
Read more ▶

 

Hyperacusis

How will the audiologist determine if I suffer from hyperacusis / recruitment ?
The audiologist will gradually increase the intensity of sounds and noises in order to determine the levels at which each auditory stimulus becomes either uncomfortable and/or worsens your tinnitus. The type and the number of stimuli depends one how much the client wishes to document the reported severity of sensitivity to daily environmental sounds/noises.
Read more ▶

 

Hypoacusis

How will the audiologist evaluate my hearing?
The purpose of a complete audiological evaluation is to verify your hearing status. If you have a hearing impairment (hypoacusis), the nature and the degree of the hearing loss will be determined. In a sound proof room, you will be asked to respond every time you perceive a tone, even if its intensity is very soft.
Read more ▶

 

Auditory Processing Disorder (APD)

Does your child encounter difficulties at school?
If this is the case, especially if your child has had slow language development or repeated ear infections, he or she should first receive a basic yet through hearing assessment. This assessment will allow the audiologist to determine the presence or absence of different kinds of problems which could affect your child's hearing sensitivity; for example, wax accumulation in the external auditory canal, middle ear infection or inner-ear problems (hearing loss).
Read more ▶

ARTICLES

 

LINKS

English

La clinique

Situé à proximité des services de transport en commun (train de banlieue) et des services de santé (audioprothésistes, cliniques de médecine familiale, urgences et hôpitaux), le Centre d'acouphène et d'hypo-hyperacousie accueille chaque année des clients de tous âges aux prises avec des problèmes d'acouphène, d'hypoacousie, d'hypersensibilité au bruit, et du trouble de traitement auditif. Notre personnel compétent, dévoué et attentif saura guider les patients dans leurs démarches afin d'améliorer leur condition audiologique, et selon le cas, de les diriger vers les bons spécialistes. Créé en 2001 dans une municipalité d'à peine 2000 habitants qui est à l'embouchure du Lac Saint-Louis et de la Rivière des Outaouais, le Centre d'acouphène et d'hypo-hyperacousie continue année après année à vous donner un service accessible, courtois et de qualité. Bienvenue à toutes et à tous.

 

L'acouphène

Comment saurais-je si je souffre d'acouphène ?
Vous avez peut-être un acouphène si vous percevez une sensation de son (s) ou de bruit (s) dans une ou deux oreilles ou dans votre tête en l'absence de toute source sonore. L'acouphène peut être décrit de façon suivante:
Lire la suite ▶

 

L'hyperacousie

Comment l'audiologiste déterminera-t-il si je souffre d'hyperacousie / hypersonie ?
L'audiologiste augmentera graduellement l'intensité des sons, des bruits pour déterminer les niveaux auxquels ces stimuli sonores deviennent inconfortables ou aggravent l'acouphène. Le nombre de stimuli et la précision de l'évaluation dépendent du besoin de préciser la sévérité de l'hyperacousie / hypersonie.
Lire la suite ▶

 

L'hypoacousie

Comment l'audiologiste évaluera-t-il mon audition ? Le but de l'évaluation complète de l'audition est de vérifier l'acuité auditive. En présence d'hypoacousie (perte auditive), il précisera la nature et le degré de celle-ci. En cabine insonore, le client adulte répond à chaque fois qu'il perçoit une tonalité, même si l'intensité de celle-ci est très faible.
Lire la suite ▶

 

Trouble du Traitement Auditif (TTA)

Votre enfant a-t-il des difficultés scolaires ? Si oui et, particulièrement, si votre enfant a connu un retard de langage ou fait plusieurs otites, la première étape consiste à procéder à une évaluation audiologique de base. Cela permettra de documenter s'il y a ou non une atteinte du système auditif périphérique du côté de l'oreille externe (ex. bouchon de cérumen), de l'oreille moyenne (otite) ou de l'oreille interne.
Lire la suite ▶

 

Votre enfant parle peu pour son âge?

Avez-vous pensé à faire évaluer l'audition de votre enfant? Les trois premières années sont cruciales afin de bien communiquer avec les autres et bien se développer socialement, émotionnellement et se préparer pour l'école.
Lire la suite ▶

ARTICLES

 

LIENS